Chaos Theory

I am anti-chaos. I like things to be neat and tidy, organized and put away. A place for everything, and everything in its place. In the past three years, I’ve also turned into a minimalist; the less you have, the less you have to organize, and clean, and maintain. I’ve been anti-chaos my whole life, but only recently have I figured out that organized clutter is still clutter. Now I love the freeing feeling of bringing yet another trunkful of stuff to Goodwill. I am astounded at the amount of stuff that I’ve gotten rid of; I never miss any of it. How is that possible? How can I give away bin after Rubbermaid bin of stuff and not miss it at all? The only explanation I can come up with is that I was tricked into thinking I needed that stuff, when I didn’t really need it at all.

Now when I go to the mall I feel a little bit sick. I feel like asking random shoppers, “Do you really need that thing? Are you sure? Is there something else you could spend your money on?” Of course that wouldn’t be fair – after all, I’m at the mall too. And I still occasionally buy stuff that I don’t really need, especially around Christmas, especially for the kids. In fact, this year I “hid” a couple of things so well that I forgot about them and they never made it under the tree.

I’m thinking of starting a three-month shopping ban. It shouldn’t be very difficult, since I hate shopping and I hate the mall. Of course with kids you never know what might come up, but if I try to buy only consumables (shampoo, food, etc.) I’m pretty sure I can do it.

I’m going to try.

 

Leave a Reply

